#nykflies: Cathay Pacific First and Business Class Lounge, Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport

This was my first time visiting Cathay’s First & Business Class lounge in Bangkok after its revamp in 2015. I went to the lounge in July 2016 when I flew from Bangkok to Singapore (Trip report here).

20160723_095437a

In line with the current trend on airport lounge design, Cathay’s Bangkok lounge is also updated with the concept of a ‘living space’ in mind. One of the most noticeable difference after the refresh is the extensive use of earthy tones in the lounge. This is a departure from the cool palette that CX used to adopt for their lounges. I prefer the current colour theme as it makes the lounge more warm and inviting.

There are no separate First and Business Class sections. Instead, the lounge is split into 3 distinct sections, each serving a different purpose.

The area right after the reception is the Food Bar. This is where you can find ready-to-eat items such as salads, sandwiches, and pastries. I did not find this area interesting as I am not a fan of cold sandwiches.

20160723_104257a

The area to the left of the Food Bar is the main dining area. This is where the Cathay’s signature Noodle Bar is located. You can have hot dishes on-demand here at any time of the day.

20160723_092405a

If you just want a place to relax and enjoy a cup of coffee, head to the main seating area that is to the right of the Food Bar. Here, you can get blended cocktails freshly prepared by staff from The Bar. There’s also an espresso coffee machine at the bar if you are a coffee lover like me.

20160723_104242a

The bathroom in the lounge is pretty basic – no shower facilities. I saw one guest smoking in the toilet, so I assumed there are no smoking areas in the lounge.

20160723_102531a

Seating – Rating: 4/5

Most of the guests hung around either at the main seating area or the dining area. For me, I decided to have my breakfast in the dining room before I explored the rest of the lounge.

There are seats in the dining room to suit the various traveler’s profile. For those who prefer more privacy, there are booth seats by the window which can sit either 2 or 4 people. If you are travelling with a large party, there are long dining tables in the middle of the room that can accommodate you too (You got to sit on the wooden stools though).

I had my meal at one of the booth seats. The seats were reasonably comfortable, and I really enjoyed the company of planes on the tarmac while sipping my hot Wanton Noodle soup.

20160723_092318a

The main seating area is designed like a huge living room. The are sofas and armchairs arranged in many different ways. Whether you are travelling alone or with companions, I’m sure you can find a comfortable spot to sit.

20160723_104219a

My favorite seats in the house has got to be the armchairs by the windows. Not only do you get to enjoy the view of the tarmac, you also get an ottoman to rest your legs on. I could just sit here all day and watch the world go by.

20160723_095433a

Even though there were plenty of seats in this lounge, it was still not enough to accommodate all the guests when the lounge got busier towards noon. Some of the guests had to stand around the bar tables in the Food Bar. Considering the number of flights Cathay has out of Bangkok, it would be great if they can consider expanding the lounge.

Food – Rating: 4/5

Breakfast menu was being served at the Noodle Bar when I arrived. There were not many options to choose from, but I still had a hard time deciding on what to eat.

IMG_20160723_095309a

I ended up having one order of Wonton Noodle, Egg Fried Rice, Steamed Pork Bun, Siu Mai and Sago Dumpling each. Once the bar staff took down my order, she gave me a buzzer and told me to collect my food at the counter when the buzzer rang.

20160723_092442a

I took some coffee from the coffee machine at the self-service bar while waiting for my food to be prepared. Some of the guests ordered coffee from the waiting staff, but she didn’t seemed to mind serving them.

The coffee was just typical, run-of-the-mill coffee-machine coffee. I found it to be a little diluted. It was disappointing, given how swanky the coffee machine looked.

20160723_092915a

I started my breakfast with the Wonton Noodles. The egg noodles were springy and had a nice bite to it. The clear broth was light, and yet flavorful. I would have believed it if someone were to tell me that this was from a Cantonese restaurant.

20160723_093001a

I can’t say the same for the dim sum though. The skin of the pork bun was mushy, and the pork filling tasted weird. The meat was strangely sweet, almost like a dessert bun. It was a taste that I was unfamiliar with.

The dumplings were okay, but unmemorable. Probably just frozen stuff from the supermarket.

20160723_094256a

The Fried Rice was the saving grace. It was very tasty, and not at all oily. The rice was fluffy and had the right amount of moisture. Do give it a try if you are there! For an even more orgasmic experience, try adding some fish sauce to the rice. You won’t regret. #EverythingWithFishSauceIsNice

IMG_20160723_094201a

Service – Rating: 4/5

Staff were generally courteous and polite. The lady manning The Bar was very warm and chatty. She made the effort to converse with the guests while she prepared the drink orders. The other staff seemed a little reserved, probably due to the language barrier.

Eligibility

Passengers travelling on Cathay Pacific’s First or Business classes are entitled to use this lounge.

Location

The lounge is located at Level 3 of Concourse G. It is not difficult to locate the lounge, but you got to be prepared for a long walk to get there (~15 minutes).

After passing immigration, turn right and walk towards the G gates. Keep going straight till you reach the crossroads between Concourse E, F and G. You will see signs like this on your right:

20160723_091756a

Take the escalator behind the standees, and go down one level. Once you reach Level 3, you will see another Cathay Pacific standee across the escalator landing. Follow the sign to the lounge.

20160723_091941a

Opening Hours:

From now till 16 SEP

Mon / Wed / Fri / Sun: 0400 – 0145 (CX706 departs at 0205)
Tue / Thu / Sat: 0400 – 0100 (CX706 departs at 0120)

Starting from 17 SEP

Mon / Wed / Fri: 0400 – 1830
Tue / Thu / Sat: 0400 – 0100
Sun: 0400 – 2230

Website: http://www.cathaypacific.com/cx/en_SG/travel-information/airport/lounges/lounge-details.BKK.html

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

