#nykstays: Aloft Munich, Germany

img_20161215_090922a

This is a review of my stay at Aloft Munich in December 2016. It was my first time in an Aloft property but the experience I had was underwhelming. Other than its fantastic location, I don’t see how this is a SPG Category 5 hotel.

Room – Rating: 4.5/5

I booked for an Urban, King bed room directly on the hotel’s website. However, when I arrived the hotel at 9 am, none of the King bed rooms were available and I was offered a Twin bed room instead. Since it was way before the official check-in time, I was happy that they even have a room for me.

I was given a room on the 1st floor facing the train station. Although the main road was always bustling with activities, the soundproofing of the room was excellent. I did not have any trouble falling asleep at night.

img_20161215_085511a

View from my room

The room itself was spacious. There were lots of storage spaces so it’s great for those with huge bags. I particularly like the long bench in front of the TV – there’s no need to fight for the chair even if you have a roommate :p

img_20161215_085440a

Love how the beds are facing the window

The beds were HUGE and comfortable. Judging from the size of the beds, it would be more appropriate to label the room as having two Double beds. I was glad that I took the Twin room instead of the King.

The mattress was well padded, and the duvet was soft and fluffy. Each bed also came with a bolster for extra comfort.

img_20161215_085453a

Giant beds

The toilet had a semi open-concept which was cool. I like that the sink was outside of the toilet as this prevents the mirror from clouding up after a hot shower. Facing the sink were the wardrobe, safe deposit box and coffee making facilities.

Lots of storage spaces

There was no bath tub in the toilet, but I didn’t mind. The water pressure from the shower was a little weak to my liking. Soap dispensers with shower gel and shampoo were provided. However, there were no toothbrushes in the room.

Toiletries and amenities provided

Service – Rating: 3/5

True to the Aloft branding, the hotel staff were all young and energetic. They were generally pleasant and friendly, but nothing memorable.

The housekeeping did not replace my bath towels during one of the days of my stay. I called the reception to ask for towels only to be told that the hotel “ran out of bath towels as it was Sunday”. I was offered two hand towels and informed that the bath towels would come the follow day. Having stayed in many hotels of a lower star rating, I have never once encountered such a situation. If an Ibis can provide me with fresh towels everyday, I don’t see how a SPG Category 5 hotel should not.

Having said that, the receptionist did manage to get me the towels after hearing my displeasure ( I don’t know how he did it). Since there was an attempt for service recovery, I shall let this service lapse pass.

Food – Rating: N/A

Adjoining the reception at the lobby is the W XYZ bar. This is the only eatery in the hotel. Although it is not a full fledged restaurant, I can see it being great for drinks with all the live music and stuff.

Breakfast was not included in my room package, but it could be purchased upon check-in. I did not remember the price, unfortunately.

20161216_071109a

Christmas tree in the lounge. Pretty!

For something light to munch, there is Re:fuel which is a self-service pantry that offers snacks on-the-go. Basically guests can just grab whatever they want and pay at the reception.

The pricing on the menu seemed quite reasonable, but the food selection was quite limited. Then again, with all the food options available at the train station just across the street, you probably don’t need the pantry anyway.

Facilities – Rating: 2/5

The is a gym in the hotel but I never got to use it. Other than that, there are computers and printers in the lobby that guests can use for free.

My greatest issue with this hotel is its lack of security. During my stay, there were two ladies (they sometimes work alone) who knocked on my door every morning between 6-8 am. They were neither guests of the hotel, nor were they staff. These ladies would knock on the door relentlessly even though I had the Do Not Disturb sign on. I do not know their intention so I refused to open the door.

Tip: This may be common sense, but DO NOT open the door if this happens to you!

When it first happened, I called the front desk and they sent the security up to have a look. The ladies got chased away but they came back the next day. As the days went by, I got used to the harassment and did not bother calling again. I think this might be a persistent problem that the hotel could not contain. They even have a sign outside the entrance to state that only guests were allowed in the hotel.

Having said that, I was not harmed in any way and none of my property was lost during my stay. However, if you are paranoid about random people knocking on your doors, I suggest you find a place elsewhere to stay.

Location – Rating: 5/5

Best located hotel ever. The hotel is strategically located across the street from München Hauptbahnhof (Munich’s main railway station) which makes it very convenient for guests to get around both within and out of the city. I am a fast walker and it took me merely 30 seconds to get from the trains to my hotel room. Yes, that’s how near the hotel is to the station.

img_20161216_071234a

Picture of the train station taken from the hotel entrance (50 meters at most!)

For those who love shopping, there is a Karstadt departmental store just behind the train station. There are also plenty of eateries (MacDonald’s, Cafe Rischart etc) and supermarkets (Edeka and REWE) at the basement of the train station. If that is not enough to satisfy your shopping needs, Marienplatz (the main shopping district) is just 10+ minutes away by foot or 5 minutes via the S-Bahn (Any of the trains will take you there).

To get to the hotel from Flughafen München (Munich Airport), take the S-Bahn on either the S1 or S8 lines (S1 is slightly faster) and alight at Hauptbahnhof Station. Get to the street level where the Deutsche Bahn (DB) train platforms are. Once you are there, look for the Starbucks sign and walk towards it. The hotel is just across the street from Starbucks.

 

Address: Bayerstrasse 37, Munich, 80335, Germany

Tel: +49 89 540 237 0

Website: http://www.aloftmunichhotel.com/en

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

