#nykstays: Holiday Inn Express Munich City West, Germany

This is a review of my stay at Holiday Inn Express Munich City West in December 2016. It was my second time at a Holiday Inn Express property and it certainly lived up to my expectations.

Prior to my stay, I had put up at the more upscale Aloft Munich for 5 nights. I must say that I am more satisfied with my stay here, even though I paid less for this room. I will not hesitate to return if I ever come back to Munich.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I can never get enough of Christmas trees ❤

Room – Rating: 4.5/5

I had a Standard Double Bed room on the 6th floor that overlooks the railway tracks. My room was just next to the elevators and I was worried about the potential noise initially. However, my concerns were uncalled for as the room was absolutely quiet throughout my stay.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One duvet for each guest. No need to fight!

The room was very spacious. I had 4 pieces of luggage and I could open them on the floor all at the same time.

Everything else in the room is pretty standard. There is a small desk that comes with a comfortable chair/couch, a flat screen TV and coffee making facilities. If I really had to find something pick on, I wished that the room had a refrigerator.

Amenities in the room

The bathroom is small but functional. There was instant hot water from the shower and the water pressure from is great. 2-in-1 shampoo/shower gels are provided in the shower and by the sink. Other toiletries can be obtained from the reception upon request.

Empty vanity top: Toiletries are available upon request

Service – Rating: 5/5

The Holiday Inn Express brand has never fail to impress me with their service standards. As an IHG Rewards Club member, I was offered complimentary daily newspaper and late check out till 2 pm. Standard internet was provided to me free of charge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Long queues at check-in but the staff were efficient

I was particularly impressed with Lena from the front desk. She is a true example of a service professional. My request for a high floor room was noted and she welcomed me warmly during check-in. From then on, I was greeted by my last name whenever Lena saw me passing by the lobby. I never expected her to remember my name by heart since I was just a basic IHG Rewards Club member.

The other team members who I had encounters with were also lovely. Overall, the service that I received was well above average. Everyone working at the hotel seems to radiate positive vibes, and I was infected by it. Great job!

Food – Rating: 4/5

All room rates at the hotel comes with complimentary breakfast buffet at the Express Café & Bar. The cafe is just next to the reception (Level 2).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The bar section of the cafe. Turn left for the buffet table.

The breakfast buffet consists of an assortment of breads and pastry, cold cuts and cereals. There were also fruits and hard boiled eggs if that is up your alley. I wouldn’t say that the selection is huge, but it is certainly enough to fill my hunger pangs.

Food, glorious food!

The star of the buffet is this cute little pancake machine which churns out fresh pancakes at a push of the button. Many of the guests were intrigued by this machine and stood there to watch their pancake being cooked. Myself included.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What sorcery is this! 😮

Drinks wise, there were hot beverages self-served at the espresso machines. Cold juices were also available at the side.

Swanky coffee machines

In terms of the food quality, I found the butter croissant rather tasty. It was flaky and soft even when I had it cold. Although the process of making the pancake was fun to watch, the taste was just average.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Everything with Nutella is goooood

Facilities – Rating: N/A

I didn’t explore the hotel enough to rate on its facilities. From what I saw, there were computers and printers at the lobby for guests to use.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The workstations are to the left of this picture

Location – Rating: 4/5

The hotel is 2 minutes away from Hirschgarten station on the S-bahn. Although there is not much to do around of the hotel, the Hauptbahnhof (Munich’s main railway station) and Marienplatz are just 3 and 5 stops away by train respectively.

There is a REWE supermarket and a dm drugstore behind the hotel for your grocery needs. To get there, take the hotel lift down to -1 level. Walk through the car park and exit from the ramp. Once you exit the ramp, you will see a REWE sign across the street. Don’t worry if the metal shutter at the ramp is shut, it will come up automatically when you get close to it.

If you are coming from the airport, take the S-bahn (S1 line) and alight at Hirschgarten station to reach the hotel. There is only one entrance/exit point at the station. Once you exit the station, turn left and walk straight for 2 minutes. The hotel lobby will be on the left.

Tip: For some reason, the pavement from the train station to the hotel is full of gravel. Not sure if has anything to do with the road works, but do take care when lugging your bags.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The hotel is just a 2-minute walk from the station

Address: Friedenheimer Brücke 15, 80639 München, Germany

Tel: +49 89 4438880

Website: https://www.ihg.com/holidayinnexpress/hotels/us/en/munich/mucwt/hoteldetail

Leave a Reply

